xxarchives
xxcurrent
xxemail
xxnotes
xxprofile
xxbio
xxlovelies
xxdesign
xxdlnd

"Left Of Center Seeks Same; Seduce My Mind & The Soul Will Follow..."

2004-02-13_xx_2:39 p.m.


Went a little crazy this week on filling out profiles for internet dating sites. My friends, family, colleagues and current lover are questioning, mocking and giving me endless amounts of shit for doing so. I am quite aware that I have no problems meeting attractive and interesting members of the fairer sex. Likewise, time restraints will make it a little hard for me to effectively find, court and seduce any beautiful babies that I might actually find interesting on said dating sites. My quirks, oddities and a million other excuses I could dream up tend to make me a fickle fuck when it comes to actually trying to maintain new friends beyond the three-week barrier.

But I look at it like this; all the women I have encountered and taken for test-drives since I re-entered the dating pool back in September have been met through friends, work or at bars. The work aspect I refuse to dwell on any further and with the exception of the one lover I have kept, I have purged all thoughts of hooking up with co-workers down the drain and out of my system. The friend�s aspect is semi-palatable. However, when the end eventually comes, this tends to put unnecessary strain on said friendships as either I or the hook-up in question is going to draw the wrath of said friends for dicking the other over. Because I keep and trust very few of my close friends, irking them in such ways is something I do my best to avoid whenever possible. The bar scene is very simple; good for people watching and entertainment but I am too old for one night stands and my pension for over indulgence makes my judgment in such situations anywhere from highly suspect to down right piss poor.

With gentle prodding from an internet buddy, I finally gave up trying to talk myself out of something �silly�, closed my mind and took that leap of faith. I have learned a ton about myself in the past week, or more to the point, I have learned a lot about myself that will fit into a box, 250 characters or less. The actual filling out of numerous profiles was actually tons of fun and allowed me to roll around in my mind and come up with phrasing and tag lines that might accurately depict the soul mate for which I search. My creative juices finally ran dry after sifting through and pilfering no less than four (4) separate services. I have, of course, checked none of them, minus one as my imaginary friend insisted on comparing our possible parable compatibility.

On a weird side note, all this creative energy has had a rather odd side effect. While composing memos and taking care of various administrative duties through out my work week, I have found myself making headers and titles that ironically resemble tag lines�.

�Angry Customer Seeks Sales Rep.� �Searching for International information; no strings attached� and even �Verbally inadequate account holder yearning for appropriate minded supervisor.� Oy vey, it appears time for me to step away from computer screens for at least 24 hours and interact with the human race. Thank goodness for weekends, collegetown co-eds and the wonders of alcoholically inspired conversational pieces.

I will, of course, keep you posted on my attempts to find true love on the worldwide web as such adventures are bound to spawn a good story or two. And you should know by now, dearest of diaries, how much I love a good story...

-----{__] | [__}-----

Comments Are Always Appreciated!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter