xxarchives
xxcurrent
xxemail
xxnotes
xxprofile
xxbio
xxlovelies
xxdesign
xxdlnd

The PBR High Carb Diet

2004-06-23_xx_9:35 p.m.


I've gained four pounds to my normal body weight. Four permanent pounds to be exact. On the surface, this is not a major accomplishment for most people. The same could be said for dropping that many pounds. But for me, this is a big deal.

Grant it, as I creep ever closer to the big Three-O, my metabolism is bound to start slowing up. But up until a couple of months ago, I have been the same height and the same weight since my sophmore year in high school. For those of you playing along at home, that is twelve years at 5 foot, 10 and 3/4 of an inch, 134lbs (61kg). While my height has not increased or diminshed, I'm up to 138 and it's not because I haven't shit in three days or because I'm wearing my big black boots. Oh no, this is actual measureable weight, naked and soaking wet. And what, you might ask, is my secret behind this weight gain? Bucking the fast food gods and a new found addiction to Pabst Blue Ribbon.

While I still get intermintent urges to venture to Toxic Bell, Booger King or Jack in the Crack, I pretty much have eliminated these grease pits from my meal time intake. While the stuff I cook at home isn't much better than fast food, it actually stays in my system to properly diget, unlike the gut bomb you can get at fast food eateries.

Then there is the beer. Pabst Blue Ribbon (PBR for short) is beer my dad drank in 1982 that has made a remergence as of late. Collegetown bars from coast to coast have been stowing this stuff on tap and in my neck of the woods it has been flowing hard for nearly a year now. The stuff is still suprisingly hard to find outside of a bar setting. But being the junky that I am, I've tracked down to suppliers to get my fix from. My local Safeway, low and behold has 12-packs (in the can) of the stuff for $6.33, but no six packs or bottles of any kind. The stocker advised me after I snagged the last case earlier in the week that they only get a dozen 12-packs per month and this is the first time he can ever remember selling out of the stuff. Down the street is a liquor store that I normally procure my hard to find and more expensive brewed concoctions from. They have 12-packs (in the can) for $6.76 and six back bottles for $4.07, respectively. The only place I have found the stuff cheaper (or at all for that matter) is far away and in a mini-mart next to a punk bar which offers 12-packs for $6.01. No where in my immediate vicinity can I find a 40 ouncer of this stuff to save my life.

For cost effective purposes, PBR in the 12 pack is almost always cheaper than light beer domestic swill of the same numbered commodity. So instead of sipping watered down piss water for my after work treat, I've been gulping PBR instead. In addition to having a higher alcohol content, the stuff has TONS more carbs than traditional domestic crap. Two months later, I have found pounds of spare tire added to my midsection and am one happy camper.

I figure that once I get over the 140lb (63kg) hump, I'll start doing crunches to try and firm up this water weight. But until then, it's just nice to slap my belly, pull up my shirt and proudly proclaim, "look mom, it's fat, not gas!" for once in my life.

-----{__] | [__}-----

Comments Are Always Appreciated!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter