xxarchives
xxcurrent
xxemail
xxnotes
xxprofile
xxbio
xxlovelies
xxdesign
xxdlnd

I coulda been a contender

2004-07-02_xx_9:41 a.m.


I was told by one of my agents when Ray Charles died that big name celebs always die in threes. Ray was number two (good ole Ronnie was the first) and the water cooler discussion about Ray and his heroin issues had barely died down when news of death number three scrolls across the bbc.com.

His earlier and younger rolls when he was a hottie are what catapulted him to fame. His odd behavior and social reclusiveness turned him into a real life, living and breathing movie character and the roll of the puffy cheeked head honcho in The Godfather made him a legend.

I, however, will always remember Marlon Brando as Colonel Kurtz. I recall viewing Appocalypse now sometime in the early 90's for the first time and holy shit did the Col. creep me out. That entire movie, for that matter, is a prime example of a nightmare I never want to have; let alone have to live through. At first, I couldn't believe how completely insane he was in that flick, but after my first dose I viewed several other flicks (Godfather, Last Tango in Paris and On The Waterfront) and saw the fever in which he could throw himself into a character. Of course this was also around the time when one of his kids was jailed for killing someone (can't remember details) and I was exposed to exatly how really, really strange this guy was.

I can't say that I'm going to miss him, nor is this terribly upsetting. I just think it is a big bummer that we won't be able to see him pop up in cameo apperances and watch him demand attention, if even for a few minutes.

So big man, this half-way decent imitiation is for you;

"What is it you wish to ask of me, on this day of my daughters wedding?"

-----{__] | [__}-----

Comments Are Always Appreciated!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Site Meter